À propos de l´IMTA

L´IMTA est une association internationale d'enseignants engagés qui dispensent des formations dans le domaine neuro-musculo-squelettique basées sur les principes du Concept Maitland®.
L'association s'engage à standardiser, développer et diffuser le concept Maitland®, et à soutenir les physiothérapeutes dans leur pratique. L'IMTA est financièrement indépendante et est neutre sur le plan politique et religieux.

Les principales activités de l'association sont les suivantes

Membres fondateurs

  • Geoffrey D. Maitland
  • Peter Wells
  • Martha Hauser
  • Elly Hengeveld
  • Di Addison
  • Robin Blake
  • Pierre Jeangros
  • Pieter Westerhuis
  • Hugo Stam
  • Kevin Banks

Personnes chargées de la présidence

  • 1992-1994: Martha Hauser
  • 1995-2001: Elly Hengeveld
  • 2001-2004: Gerti Bucher-Dollenz
  • 2004-2007: Patricia Davis-Knorr
  • 2007-2010: Hugo Stam
  • 2010-2016: Jan Herman van Minnen
  • 2016-2019: Jürg Hauswirth
  • 2019 – : René Bakodi

G. D. Maitland (1924-2010)Né à Adélaïde, en Australie, il a suivi une formation de physiothérapeute de 1946 à 1949 après avoir servi dans la RAAF pendant la deuxième guerre mondiale en Grande-Bretagne.

Il a d'abord travaillé au Royal Adelaide Hospital et à l'Adelaide Children's Hospital, s'intéressant principalement au traitement des troubles orthopédiques et neurologiques. Plus tard, il a continué à travailler à temps partiel en milieu hospitalier et à temps partiel dans sa clinique privée. Par la suite, il a partagé son activité professionnelle entre sa pratique privée et une fonction de tuteur clinique à l'école de physiothérapie de l'Institut de technologie d'Australie du Sud, aujourd'hui l'Université d'Australie du Sud. Il étudiait continuellement et passait une demi-journée par semaine à la bibliothèque Barr-Smith et à l'excellente bibliothèque de l'école de médecine de l'université d'Adélaïde.

Geoff Maitland a immédiatement montré un intérêt pour l'examen clinique minutieux et l'évaluation des patients souffrant de troubles neuro-musculo-squelettiques. À cette époque, l'évaluation et le traitement par des mouvements passifs spécifiques étaient sous-représentés dans la pratique de la physiothérapie. Geoff a appris des techniques dans des ouvrages d'ostéopathie, de chiropraxie et de rebouteux, ainsi que dans des ouvrages médicaux tels que ceux de Marlin, Jostes, James B. Mennell, John McMillan Mennell, Alan Stoddard, Robert Maigne, Edgar Cyriax, James Cyriax et bien d'autres. Il a entretenu une vaste correspondance avec de nombreux auteurs du monde entier qui ont publié des travaux sur les mobilisations passives, les manipulations et sur des sujets variés tels que le MacNab du Canada et Alf Breig de Suède.

En tant que professeur, Geoff mettait l'accent sur l'examen clinique et l'évaluation. Il encourageait les étudiants à documenter leurs traitement dès le début, car il estimait qu'il fallait "s'impliquer dans la documentation pour analyser son action". En 1954, il a commencé à organiser des formations en thérapie manipulative.

En 1961, il a reçu une bourse d'un fonds d'études spéciales qui lui a permis, ainsi qu'à sa femme Anne, de partir à l'étranger pour un voyage d'études. Ils ont rendu visite à des ostéopathes, des chiropraticiens, des médecins et des collègues physiothérapeutes dont ils avaient entendu parler et avec lesquels ils avaient correspondu au cours des années précédentes. À Londres, Geoff a participé à d'intéressantes séances cliniques et à des discussions en partageant des repas avec James Cyriax et son équipe. De cette visite, il s'est lié d'amitié avec Gregory P. Grieve du Royaume-Uni. Ils ont entretenu une correspondance approfondie sur leurs expériences cliniques, qui s'est poursuivie pendant de nombreuses années.

En 1962, Geoff Maitland a présenté à la Société de Physiothérapie d'Australie un article intitulé "The Problems of Teaching Vertebral Manipulation" (Les problèmes de l'enseignement de la manipulation vertébrale) dans lequel il a clairement différencié la manipulation de la mobilisation et s'est fait l'avocat de l'utilisation des mouvements passifs doux dans le traitement de la douleur, en plus des techniques de force plus traditionnelles utilisées pour augmenter l'amplitude du mouvement. Dans ce contexte, il est convenable de citer James Cyriax, l'un des fondateurs de la médecine orthopédique, qui a eu une influence majeure sur le développement de la thérapie manipulative dispensée par les physiothérapeutes:

"[...] plus récemment, Geoff Maitland, un physiothérapeute australien, a utilisé des mobilisations répétitives à une fréquence plus lente mais avec une plus grande force. Elles ne sont pas identiques aux techniques de mobilisation que les ostéopathes appellent à tort "articulation", ni aussi saccadées que celles des chiropraticiens. La grande vertu de l'œuvre de Maitland est sa modestie. Il n'a pas érigé ses techniques de manipulation en culte; il ne revendique pas ni qu’elles aient uniquement un effet sur le système autonome, ni qu’elles soient une panacée. En effet, il s'efforce d'éviter les arguments théoriques et insiste sur les effets pratiques de la manipulation. Le patient est examiné à intervalles réguliers au cours de la séance, afin de permettre au manipulateur d'évaluer l'effet de son traitement. Il poursuit ou modifie sa technique en fonction du changement, ou de l'absence de changement constaté. Il est clair que ces mobilisations constituent pour le physiothérapeute un complément utile à celles de la médecine orthopédique et, mieux encore, une introduction à celles-ci. Le thérapeute gagne en confiance en utilisant des manœuvres douces et, si le cas répond bien, il n'a pas besoin de chercher plus loin."

Cyriax J (1984) Textbook of Orthopaedic
Médecine. Part II - Treatment byManipulation, Massage and Injection.11e édition.
(Ballière-Tindall, Londres. Pages 40-41)

Geoff Maitland est devenu un collaborateur important de l'Australian Journal of Physiotherapy, ainsi que d'autres revues médicales et de physiothérapie dans le monde entier. À l'instigation de Monica Martin-Jones, OBE, une leader de la Chartered Society of Physiotherapy en Grande-Bretagne, Maitland a été invité à publier ses travaux, ce qui a donné lieu à la première édition de Vertebral Manipulation en 1964, suivie d'une deuxième édition en 1968. La première édition de Peripheral Manipulation a été publiée en 1970, dans laquelle a été introduit le fameux "diagramme de mouvement", une première coproduction avec Mme Jennifer Hickling en 1965.

Tout au long de nombreuses années de conférences et de publications, Geoff Maitland a continué à traiter des patients, le travail clinique restant sa principale source d'apprentissage et d'inspiration pour créer des adaptations. Geoff a traité des patients dans son cabinet privé pendant plus de 40 ans et, bien qu'il ait fermé son cabinet en 1988, il est resté actif dans le traitement de patients jusqu'en 1995.

En 1965, l'un des souhaits de Maitland s'est réalisé. Avec l'aide de Mme Elma Caseley, directrice de l'école de physiothérapie de l'Institut de technologie d'Australie du Sud et de la branche d'Australie du Sud de l'Association australienne de physiothérapie, le premier cours de trois mois sur la manipulation de la colonne vertébrale a été organisé à Adélaïde. En 1974, ce cours s'est transformé en une année d'enseignement post-universitaire ("diplôme post-universitaire en physiothérapie manipulative") à l'Institut de technologie d'Australie du Sud, aujourd'hui un cours de maîtrise à l'Université d'Australie du Sud.

Il a été l'un des cofondateurs, en 1974, de la Fédération internationale de physiothérapie manuelle orthopédique (IFOMPT), une branche de la World Physiotherapy (World PT).

Ce n'est qu'en 1978, alors qu'il donnait un de ses premiers cours en Europe à Bad Ragaz, en Suisse, qu'il a reconnu, en discutant avec le Dr Zinn, directeur de la clinique médicale et du centre d'études postuniversitaires de Bad Ragaz, qu'en fait son travail et ses idées étaient un concept spécifique de pensée et d'action plutôt qu'une méthode d'application des techniques de manipulation. Le concept de physiothérapie manipulative de Maitland, tel qu'il est connu aujourd'hui, met l'accent sur un mode de pensée spécifique, sur une évaluation et un bilan continus, sur l'art de la physiothérapie manipulative ("savoir quand, comment et quelles techniques utiliser, et les adapter à la situation individuelle du patient") et sur un engagement total envers le patient.

Liens annnexes :
Wikipedia - Geoffrey Maitland

Engagement dans diverses associations professionnelles
Geoff Maitland s'est engagé longtemps et avec un engagement important dans diverses associations professionnelles :

  • Membre du comité de la section de l'État de l'association australienne de physiothérapie (Australian Physiotherapy Association, APA) pendant 28 ans à divers titres et délégué de l'État au conseil fédéral pendant 11 ans. En collaboration avec d'autres personnes, il a été responsable de la révision de la constitution de l'APA en 1964-1965. En 1977, il a présenté une proposition concernant la spécialisation en physiothérapie manuelle, un concept qui a ensuite été accepté sous une forme modifiée.
  • Président inaugural de l'Australian College of Physiotherapists pendant six ans et membre du conseil pendant six autres années.
  • Membre du Physiotherapy Registration Board of South Australia pendant 22 ans.
  • Président du groupe d'experts en physiothérapie pour l'Australian Examining Council for Overseas Physiotherapists (AECOP) pendant 11 ans.
  • Délégué australien à l'IFOMPT pendant cinq ans et membre de son comité des normes académiques pendant cinq autres années.

Prix
Pour son travail, il a été récompensé par plusieurs prix :

  • Membre de l'Ordre de l'Empire britannique en 1981.
  • Fellowship de l'Australian College of Physiotherapists par monographie en 1970, avec un autre Fellowship par spécialisation en 1984.
  • Diplôme honorifique de maîtrise en sciences appliquées en physiothérapie de l'Université d'Australie du Sud en 1986.
  • Membre honoraire de la Chartered Society of Physiotherapy (GB).
  • Membre honoraire à vie de la South African Society of Physiotherapy, y compris du Group of Manipulative Physiotherapy, de la Manipulative Physiotherapy Association of Australia (MPAA), de la Swiss Association of Manipulative Physiotherapy (SVOMP), de la German Association of Manual Therapy (DVMT), de l'American Physical Therapy Association (APTA) et de l'International Maitland Teachers' Association (IMTA).
  • Prix de l'IFOMPT en reconnaissance de ses services et de son leadership depuis sa fondation.
  • Prix Mildred Elson décerné par la Confédération mondiale de la physiothérapie (WCPT) en 1995 pour l'ensemble de son œuvre

l'IMTA (International Maitland Teachers Association) a été fondée en 1992 à Zurzach, en Suisse. Geoff Maitland en était un membre fondateur et son premier président.

Tout ce travail n'aurait pas été possible sans le soutien affectueux de son épouse Anne, la mère de leurs deux enfants John et Wendy. Anne a réalisé la plupart des arts graphiques des publications de Geoff. Elle a pris des notes, rédigé des manuscrits et a enregistré sur vidéo un grand nombre de ses cours. Leur discipline dans la réévaluation continue a été une des grandes forces des Maitland, qui ont été pratiquement inséparables depuis leur rencontre en Angleterre pendant la deuxième guerre mondiale. Anne a reçu le titre de protectrice de l'Association néerlandaise de thérapie manipulative orthopédique (NVOMT).

Le travail de Geoff Maitland, notamment à travers le mode de pensée et le processus d'évaluation continue, a posé les bases du développement des définitions et des descriptions.

Citations
L'œuvre de sa vie a été reconnue par de nombreux auteurs dans des nécrologies au moment de son décès en 2010 :

"[...] D'innombrables physiothérapeutes en Australie et à l'étranger se souviendront de Geoff. Nous saluons la disparition d'un clinicien, d'un enseignant et d'un mentor vraiment exceptionnel. (P. Trott, R. Grant , Manual Therapy, 2010, (15) p. 297)"

" [...] La contribution de Geoff Maitland à la profession de physiothérapeute, et en particulier à la physiothérapie musculo-squelettique, ne peut être sous-estimée. Son inspiration et sa collaboration avec nos propres pionniers britanniques ont conduit au développement du MACP et ont réellement posé les bases de tous les rôles à portée élargie et de l'enseignement postuniversitaire de la physiothérapie dont nous bénéficions aujourd'hui." (MACP, Manual Therapy, 2010 (15) pp. 298-299)

"[...] Geoff était un excellent auditeur et un excellent communicateur. Il accordait une grande importance à l'art et à la technique de l'écoute (en opposition à la simple audition). Il s'accrochait à chaque mot que ses patients prononçaient afin de ne pas manquer les indices subtils du langage ou du ton qui l'aideraient à comprendre, en profondeur, ce que la personne vivait. Il utilisait toutes les facettes de la "capacité du corps à informer", tant verbale que non verbale. Il repérerait les nuances presque imperceptibles des réponses du patient à son traitement. Il était le seul à reconnaître, dans une salle pleine d'étudiants, la signification importante d'un patient qui tambourinait des doigts sur le divan. Geoff était un visionnaire et un innovateur. Dans la préface de la première édition de Vertebral Manipulation (1964), il reconnaît que "l'approche pratique de l'utilisation de la manipulation consiste à associer le traitement des symptômes aux signes du patient plutôt qu'au diagnostic" et qu'il est souvent impossible de savoir quelle est la véritable pathologie [...] les symptômes et les signes (d'une lésion discale) peuvent varier considérablement et nécessiter des traitements différents.

Sa vision a joué un rôle déterminant dans l'acquisition de compétences désormais bien établies, notamment les "soins centrés sur le patient", l'utilisation de la mobilisation pour moduler la douleur et la prise de conscience de la "nature de la personne" et de son impact sur le traitement. Il a souligné la nécessité d'une connaissance théorique large et approfondie pour soutenir et informer la pratique clinique. Il a préconisé la discipline consistant à évaluer tout ce que nous faisons pour prouver notre valeur, ce qui a conduit à l'utilisation de mesures des résultats rapportées et orientées par le patient (astérisques subjectifs et fonctionnels) et à la demande d'une notation précise du traitement et de ses effets. Geoff était également à l'avant-garde de la recherche menée par des physiothérapeutes pour des physiothérapeutes, à une époque où l'on considérait que le rôle du médecin était de faire un rapport sur la physiothérapie et de décider des modalités de physiothérapie à prescrire. En résumé, G D Maitland, soutenu par Anne, sa famille proche et ses collègues, a pris sa place dans l'histoire de notre profession. Il est le Donald Bradman des physiothérapeutes. Sir Donald, un compatriote australien, avait une moyenne à la batte de 99,94 en Test Matchs et, comme pour Geoff, beaucoup ont aspiré à atteindre un tel niveau mais aucun, à ce jour, ne s'en est approché."

(Président et membres de l'Association internationale des enseignants de Maitland)
Association, IMTA Manual Therapy, (15) 2010, p.300-301)

Dans ce contexte, il est approprié de conclure avec une citation du professeur Lance Twomey, vice-chancelier, professeur de physiothérapie à l'Université de technologie Curtin, Perth, Australie :

"[...] L'accent mis par Maitland sur un examen très minutieux et complet menant à l'application précise d'un traitement par le mouvement et suivi à son tour de l'évaluation des effets de ce mouvement sur le patient, constitue la base de l'approche clinique moderne. Elle est probablement l'approche la plus proche possible de la méthode scientifique appliquée dans le cadre de la pratique clinique de la physiothérapie et sert de modèle à d'autres domaines spécialisés de la profession.

Avant-propos dans Refshauge K & Gass E
(1995) Physiothérapie musculo-squelettique.
Butterworth-Heinemann, Oxford. Page IX

(Biographie avec la permission de Hengeveld & Banks (2014) Maitland's Vertebral Manipulation. Prise en charge des troubles musculo-squelettiques. Vol I. 8e éd. Elsevier, Edinburgh)

fr_FRFrench

Nouvelles de Maitland

Restez à la pointe des soins fondés sur des données probantes en physiothérapie ! Abonnez-vous à notre bulletin Maitland® Concept pour obtenir des informations exclusives sur les traitements neuromusculosquelettiques avancés et les stratégies de gestion. Améliorez votre pratique, améliorez les résultats pour vos patients et restez à la pointe de la recherche de l'excellence.

Fractures de la colonne vertébrale.
Sérieux ou pas ?

Participez à un webinaire passionnant avec un conférencier de renommée internationale Laura Finucane sur 7 février 2024 à 20h00 CET lors de la session en direct ou la regarder plus tard en eplay.

Teacher Name

Add Your Heading Text Here

Add Your Heading Text Here

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut elit tellus, luctus nec ullamcorper mattis, pulvinar dapibus leo. Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut elit tellus, luctus nec ullamcorper mattis, pulvinar dapibus leo.

Plateforme de gestion du consentement par Real Cookie Banner

About the IMTA

The IMTA is an international union of committed teachers who provide training courses on neuro-musculoskeletal management based on the principles of the Maitland® Concept.
The Association is committed to standardising, developing and disseminating the Maitland® Concept, and to supporting physiotherapists in its application. IMTA is financially independent and is neutral in both political and religious matters.

The Association’s principal activities include:

Founding Members

  • Geoffrey D. Maitland
  • Peter Wells
  • Martha Hauser
  • Elly Hengeveld
  • Di Addison
  • Robin Blake
  • Pierre Jeangros
  • Pieter Westerhuis
  • Hugo Stam
  • Kevin Banks

Chair Persons

  • 1992-1994: Martha Hauser
  • 1995-2001: Elly Hengeveld
  • 2001-2004: Gerti Bucher-Dollenz
  • 2004-2007: Patricia Davis-Knorr
  • 2007-2010: Hugo Stam
  • 2010-2016: Jan Herman van Minnen
  • 2016-2019: Jürg Hauswirth
  • 2019 – : René Bakodi

G. D. Maitland (1924–2010), was  born in Adelaide, Australia, trained as a physiotherapist from 1946 to 1949 after serving in the RAAF during the second World War in Great Britain.

His first job was at the Royal Adelaide Hospital and the Adelaide Children’s Hospital, with a main interest in the treatment of orthopaedic and neurological disorders. Later he continued working part-time in the hospital and part-time in his own private clinic. After a few years he became a part-time private practitioner and part-time clinical tutor at the School of Physiotherapy in the South Australian Institute of Technology, now the University of South Australia. He continuously studied and spent half a day each week in the Barr–Smith Library and the excellent library at the Medical School of the University of Adelaide.

He immediately showed an interest in careful clinical examination and assessment of patients with neuro-musculo-skeletal disorders. In those days assessment and treatment by specific passive movements were under-represented in physiotherapy practice. G. D. Maitland learned techniques from osteopathic, chiropractic and bonesetter books as well as from medical books such as those of Marlin, Jostes, James B. Mennell, John McMillan Mennell, Alan Stoddard, Robert Maigne, Edgar Cyriax, James Cyriax and many others. He maintained an extensive correspondence with numerous authors worldwide, who published work on passive mobilisations, manipulation and related topics as for example MacNab from Canada and Alf Breig from Sweden.

As a lecturer, he emphasized clinical examination and assessment. He stimulated students to write treatment records from the very beginning, as he felt that ‘one needed to commit oneself to paper to analyse what one is doing’. In 1954 he started with manipulative therapy teaching sessions.

In 1961 he received an award from a special studies fund, which enabled him and his wife Anne to go overseas for a study tour. They visited osteopaths, chiropractors, medical doctors and physiotherapy colleagues whom they had heard and read about and corresponded with in the preceding years. In London, Geoff had interesting lunchtime clinical sessions and discussions with James Cyriax and his staff. From this tour G. D. Maitland established a friendship with Gregory P. Grieve from the UK. They had extensive correspondence about their clinical experiences, and this continued for many years.

Maitland delivered a paper, in 1962, to the Physiotherapy Society of Australia entitled ‘The Problems of Teaching Vertebral Manipulation’, in which he presented a clear differentiation between manipulation and mobilization and became a strong advocate of the use of gentle passive movement in the treatment of pain, in addition to the more traditional forceful techniques used to increase range of motion. In this context it may be suitable to quote James Cyriax, a founder of orthopaedic medicine and of major influence on the development of manipulative therapy provided by physiotherapists:

. . . more recently Maitland, a physiotherapist from Australia, has been employing repetitive thrusts of lesser frequency but with more strength behind them. They are not identical with the mobilizing techniques that osteopaths misname ‘articulation’, nor are they as jerky a chiropractors’ pressures. The great virtue of Maitland’s work is its moderation. He has not expanded his manipulative techniques into a cult; he claims neither autonomic effects nor that they are a panacea. Indeed, he goes out of his way to avoid theoretical arguments and insists on the practical effect of manipulation . . . . The patient is examined at frequent intervals during the session, to enable the manipulator to assess the result of his treatment so far. He continues or alters his technique in accordance with the change, or absence of change, detected. These mobilizations clearly provide the physiotherapist with a useful addition to those of orthopaedic medicine and, better still, with an introduction to them. She gains confidence from using gentle manoeuvres and, if the case responds well . . . need seek no further.

Cyriax J (1984) Textbook of Orthopaedic
Medicine. Part II – Treatment byManipulation, Massage and Injection.11th Edition.
(Ballière-Tindall, London. Pages 40–41)

G. D. Maitland became a substantial contributor to the Australian Journal of Physiotherapy as well as to other medical and physiotherapy journals worldwide. On the instigation of Monica Martin-Jones, OBE, a leader of the Chartered Society of Physiotherapy in Great Britain, Maitland was asked to publish his work, which resulted in the first edition of Vertebral Manipulation in 1964, which was followed by a second edition in 1968. The first edition of Peripheral Manipulation was published in 1970, in which the famous ‘movement diagram’ was introduced, an earlier co-production with Ms Jennifer Hickling in 1965.

Over all the years of lecturing and publishing, Maitland kept treating patients as the clinical work remained his main source of learning and adapting ideas. Geoff treated patients in his private practice for over 40 years and although he closed his practice in 1988, he remained active in treating patients until 1995.

In 1965, one of Maitland’s wishes came true; with the help of Ms Elma Caseley, Head of the Physiotherapy School, South Australian Institute of Technology and the South Australian Branch of the Australian Physiotherapy Association, the first three months course on Manipulation of the Spine was held in Adelaide. In 1974 this course developed into the one year post-graduate education ‘postgraduate diploma in manipulative physiotherapy’ at the South Australian Institute of Technology, now a Masters degree course at the University of South Australia.

He was one of the co-founders, in 1974, of the International Federation of Orthopaedic Manipulative Physical Therapy (IFOMPT), a branch of the World Confederation of Physiotherapy (WCPT).

Only in 1978, while teaching one of his first courses in continental Europe in Bad Ragaz, Switzerland, did he recognize, through discussion with Dr Zinn, Director of the Medical Clinic and the Postgraduate Study Centre in Bad Ragaz, that in fact his work and ideas were a specific concept of thought and action rather than a method of applying manipulative techniques. The Maitland Concept of Manipulative Physiotherapy as it became known emphasizes a specific way of thinking, continuous evaluation and assessment and the art of manipulative physiotherapy (‘know when, how and which techniques to perform, and adapt these to the individual situation of the patient’) and a total commitment to the patient.

Related links:
Wikipedia – Geoffrey Maitland

Commitment to various professional associations
Maitland has held a long and extensive commitment to various professional associations:

  • Australian Physiotherapy Association (APA) where he was on the State branch committee for 28 years in various capacities and a State Delegate to Federal Council for 11 years. In conjunction with others, he was responsible for the revision of the constitution of APA in 1964–1965 In 1977, he put forward a submission regarding Specialization in Manipulative Physiotherapy, a concept which was subsequently accepted in modified form.
  • Inaugural President of the Australian College of Physiotherapists for six years and a member of the council for a further six years.
  • Member of the Physiotherapy Registration Board of South Australia for 22 years.
  • Chairman of the Expert Panel for Physiotherapy for Australian Examining Council for Overseas Physiotherapists (AECOP) for 11 years.
  • Australian delegate to IFOMPT for five years and a member of its academic standards committee for another five years.

Awards
For his work he was honoured with several awards:

  • Member of the Order of the British Empire in 1981.
  • Fellowship of the Australian College of Physiotherapists by Monograph in 1970, with a further Fellowship by specialization in 1984.
  • Honorary Degree of Master of Applied Science in Physiotherapy from the University of South Australia in 1986.
  • Honorary Fellow of the Chartered Society of Physiotherapy (GB).
  • Honorary life memberships of the South African Society of Physiotherapy, including the Group of Manipulative Physiotherapy, Manipulative Physiotherapy Association of Australia (MPAA), Swiss Association of Manipulative Physiotherapy (SVOMP), German Association of Manual Therapy (DVMT) , the American Physical Therapy Association (APTA) and the International Maitland Teachers’ Association (IMTA).
  • He received an award from IFOMPT in appreciation of his service and leadership from its foundation.
  • Mildred Elson Award by the World Confederation of Physical Therapy (WCPT) for his life’s work in 1995.

In 1992 in Zurzach, Switzerland, the International Maitland Teachers’ Association (IMTA) was founded, of which G. D. Maitland was a founding member and inaugural President.

All this work would not have been possible without the loving support of his wife Anne, the mother of their two children John and Wendy. Anne did most of the graphic arts in Maitland’s publications, kept notes, made manuscripts and videotaped many of his courses. Their continuous feedback discipline has been one of the very strengths of the Maitlands, who have been practically inseparable since they met in England during the second World War. Anne was awarded the protectoress of the Dutch Association of Orthopaedic Manipulative Therapy (NVOMT).

Maitland’s work, especially through the mode of thinking and the process of continuous assessment, has laid the foundation for the development of contemporary definitions and descriptions of the physiotherapy process.

Quotes
His life’s work has been acknowledged by numerous authors in obituaries at the time of his passing in 2010:

……..Geoff will be remembered by countless physiotherapists in Australia and overseas.We acknowledge the passing of a truly great clinician, teacher and mentor. (P. Trott, R. Grant , Manual Therapy, 2010, (15) p. 297)

…Geoff Maitland’s contribution to the physiotherapy profession, and in particular to musculoskeletal physiotherapy cannot be underestimated. His inspiration and collaboration with our own UK pioneers led to the development of the MACP and really set the foundations for all the extended scope roles and postgraduate physiotherapy education that we enjoy today. (MACP, Manual Therapy, 2010 (15) pp. 298-299)

……Geoff was a great listener and a great communicator. He placed a great emphasis on the art and skill of listening [as opposed to just hearing]. He would hang on every word his patients would say so that he did not miss the subtle hints from the language or its tone that would help him understand, in depth, what the individual was experiencing. He would use every facet of “the bodies capacity to inform” both verbal and non-verbal. He would spot the almost imperceptible nuances of the patient’s responses to his treatment. Only he would recognise, in a room full of students, the important meaning of a patient drumming his fingers on the couch. Geoff was a visionary and an innovator. In the preface to the first edition of Vertebral Manipulation [1964] he recognises “The practical approach to the use of manipulation is to relate treatment to the patient’s symptoms and signs rather than to diagnosis” and that “it is often impossible to know what the true pathology is..symptoms and signs [of a disc lesion] may vary widely and require different treatments”

His vision was instrumental in giving us what are now established competencies, including, “Patient-Centred Care”, the use of mobilisation for pain modulation, and an awareness of “the nature of the person” and ist impact on treatment. He highlighted the need for deep and broad theoretical knowledge to support and inform clinical practice. He advocated the discipline of evaluating everything we do to prove our worth and with this came the use of patient reported and orientated outcome measures [subjective and functional asterisks] and the demand for accurate recording of treatment and its effects. Geoff was also at the forefront of research by Physiotherapists for Physiotherapist at a time when it was seen as the role of the Doctor to report on Physiotherapy and decide which Physiotherapy modalities should be prescribed. In summary, G D Maitland supported by Anne and his close family and colleagues has established his place in our profession’s History. He is the Donald Bradman of Physiotherapists. Sir Donald, a fellow Australian, had a career Test Match batting average of 99.94 and, as with Geoff, many have aspired to reach such a standard but none, to date, have come anywhere near.

(Chairman and members of International Maitland Teachers’
Association, IMTA Manual Therapy, (15) 2010, p.300-301)

Within this context it seems suitable to conclude with a quote from Professor Lance Twomey, Vice Chancellor, Professor of Physiotherapy, Curtin University of Technology, Perth, Australia:

. . . Maitland’s emphasis on very careful and comprehensive examination leading to the precise application of treatment by movement and followed in turn by the assessment of the effects of that movement on the patient, form the basis for the modern clinical approach. This is probably as close to the scientific method as is possible within the clinical practice of physical therapy and serves as a model for other special areas of the profession.

Foreword in Refshauge K & Gass E
(1995) Musculoskeletal Physiotherapy.
Butterworth-Heinemann, Oxford. Page IX

(Biography with permission from Hengeveld & Banks (2014) Maitland’s Vertebral Manipulation. Management of Musculoskeletal Disorders. Vol I. 8th ed. Elsevier, Edinburgh)

en_USEnglish

Maitland News

Stay at the forefront of evidence-based care in physiotherapy! Subscribe to our Maitland® Concept newsletter for exclusive insights into advanced neuromusculoskeletal treatment and management strategies. Elevate your practice, enhance patient outcomes, and stay ahead in the pursuit of excellence.

Spinal Fractures.
Serious or not?

Be part of an exciting Webinar with the international top speaker Laura Finucane on February 7th 2024 at 20:00 CET in the live session or watch it later as a eplay.

Teacher Name

Add Your Heading Text Here

Add Your Heading Text Here

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut elit tellus, luctus nec ullamcorper mattis, pulvinar dapibus leo. Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut elit tellus, luctus nec ullamcorper mattis, pulvinar dapibus leo.

Consent Management Platform by Real Cookie Banner